School bus pull at Aberfoyle Public School!

Today was the big day that I visited Aberfoyle Public school.

The crowd at the bus pull

The crowd at the bus pull

 

I arrived at the school and already the newspapers and TV crews were there. It didn’t take long before kids started to notice the Denny’s school bus infront of the school with a huge banner for the fundraiser. After briefly touching base with members of the press Principal Sue Guest came and informed me that the kids were waiting for me in the gymnasium and very excited with anticipation. You can imagine how hyped up a gym full of kids can get when waiting.

the crowd beginning a chant of "6 Pack"

the crowd beginning a chant of

I entered the gym and the video cameras and still cameras were set up. The kids already knew who I was by the pamphlets and annoucements that went out the week leading up to my visit. The teachers got the kids attention and I talked to them about chasing dreams and making a difference. I ended the discussion highlighting the point that no one believed I could tow a school bus, but I was about to do that…never let any one tell you what you can’t do.

I asked the kids if they believed I could tow the school bus and they all cheered yes. Then I asked them if they wanted to see me tow the school bus and they all cheered yes. We then made our way outside and the kids lined the street.

The sea of humanity that formed to see the bus pull

The sea of humanity that formed to see the bus pull

 

At first I tested the harness and pulled the slack out of the rope. The crowd seen me prepping the pull and began a chant of “6-Pack! 6-Pack! 6-Pack!”

Setting up the bus for pulling. I am flanked by helpers and camera people.

Setting up the bus for pulling. I am flanked by helpers and camera people.

Testing the rope for the pull

Testing the rope for the pull

After getting all set up I deeked into the school bus and had a few of my helpers hold up a bed sheet for me to change behind it. The crowd by this point was in an frenzy, and cheering so loud I could feel the noise vibrating through the bus. While I was getting ready I had several of my people hyping the crowd, “Do you want to see 6 Pack tow that school bus?!!!!”
Finally I made my way out of the bus and ready to perform the feat of strength they had all come to see.
Me dressed up as Mr. Incredible!

Me dressed up as Mr. Incredible!

Ready in a squat position, and with everything in order, my helper Joe had the crowd count down for the pull. “3-2-1-PULL!!!!”. I sprang from my starting position and blasted forward with everything I had. At the same time I pulled on the rope as if my life was on line. The amount of force it takes to make a 25,000 pound school bus move pushes the human body to the max. Despite my huge jolt at the start, the bus was not moving until a few seconds of struggle.
The start of the pull. Springing up like a sprinter from the blocks.

The start of the pull. Springing up like a sprinter from the blocks.

With the bus in motion I could raise up a little bit from my starting position and began taking my small steps and kept my arms pulling with my lats behind them. It was a struggle the whole way, and taxes your body in 20 seconds like a full on 3 hour workout of the highest level might.
the struggle has begun

the struggle has begun, raising up and pulling the rope

The crowd could see the bus moving and got behind me.

The crowd could see the bus moving and got behind me.

When I reached the end of the rope, and was done pulling the Denny’s School Bus the kids immediately jumped up and ran over to me. I was quickly mobbed with requests for autographs and asked questions like “Do you think you could tow a plane?” “Sure I could”
Signing autographs after the pull.

Signing autographs after the pull.Posing for picturesMe and my nephew Owen posing for a picture

Posing for pictures after the pull

Posing for pictures after the pull

Me and my nephew Owen

Me and my nephew Owen

3 thoughts on “School bus pull at Aberfoyle Public School!

  1. Hey 6pack,
    you came to my school on halloween. I think greatly of you because of your strength and power. Although you said you would pull more you did not

  2. Hi Ryan,I cant wait until tomorrow when you pull the bus at our school. I think you can definetly pull a bus: ) I saw your mucsles in my classroom and boy were they BIG! I donated 13$ to Sick kids. Can I have your autograph when you come to our school? I think you can really make a diffrence. : ) I want to be like you someday. : )

  3. hey 6pack(Ryan)
    i cant wait till October 31 2008
    Did you acually pull the bus at Aberfoyl public school
    I think you can pull the bus because i saw your muscles in our class room
    can i have your adergraph when you some to our school?

    your fan Joeanna(Rickson Ridge Public School)

Leave a Reply

